Welcome, skip to the content.

History & heritage

Murray 1 Power Station

1800 623 776

Murray 1 Power Station is the second largest power station in the Snowy Mountains Scheme. There are 10 turbines at Murray 1, each capable of producing enough electricity to supply over 95,000 houses. The Murray 1 Power Station is 10 kilometres out of Khancoban on the Alpine Way.

Next to the power station is the Murray 1 Visitors Centre. This centre offers an exciting interactive experience with a wide range of displays, hands on models and exhibits. There are barbecue and picnic areas by the water that are open to the public. Light refreshments are available in the Cafe.

Safety is important at all times while visiting the Scheme. For more information on Scheme safety, please contact the Visitors Centre.

Murray 2 Power Station is unavailable for tours but can be viewed from a viewing area on Waterfall Farm Road.

Content: Tumbarumba Visitor Information Centre

More info

  • BBQ facilities
  • Café
  • Picnic area
  • Shop
Entry cost:

Free Entry